capitol Theatre Circa 1930
Construction for Moose Jaw’s former “Capitol Theatre” began in 1913 when owner, Barney Allen, planned to relocate his current smaller theatre, the Rex Theatre. As stated in the August 19th, 1916,” Daily News” – the Allen Theatre soon became renowned as one of “the most beautiful theatres in Western Canada.” The interior walls were covered with gilded ornate plasterwork, bas-relief panels emblazoned with cherubs and the Allen Theatre crest. The exterior of the theatre was adorned with the Claybank brick, which was used in many of Moose Jaw’s commercial buildings of the time.
Throughout the 1920’s, 30’s and 40’s, the theatre showcased the talents and entertainment of hundreds. In 1923, in affiliation with the Famous Players Canadian Corporaton resulted in the name change to the Capitol Theatre. Through many changes following W.W. II, the Capitol Theatre remained opened as a single screen theatre till September of 1982. Two months later, the May Brothers of Mayco Company took over the Theatre and turned it into a three-screen multiplex, which ran until 1999.
In 2000, Moose Jaw’s Art in Motion purchased the Capital Theatre, as well as the properties both north and south of the theatre to be renovated as part of a cultural centre. Renovations began in 2003 with the doors opening in June, 2004, as the Mae Wilson Theatre in honour of the contribution from the Wilson family. Once again, the theatre is gracing the streetscape of Downtown Moose Jaw, and the headline on opening day echoed the Daily News of 1916 – “A Beautiful Theatre has Opened”.
495 S/N Limited Edition Print $60.00 each
Image Size: H 12″ x W 16″
Framed beginning at $250.00 each
Also available as a Framed Art Card, Art Plaque and Giclée.
Please email us your inquiry or call the Gallery 1(306)693-7600 for more information.